Chicken, Bacon, Ranch Pasta

Nap-Time Creations

EEK another feature! I love nap-time creations! Make sure you check her blog out.

I have been having a blast with getting to know some blogger friends across the nation and you’ll never guess what pre-Holiday special they have going right now…A $400 giveaway! Plus, runner up prizes:)

Visit any of the following blogs to enter:
If you’re not already following them, DO! They have great crafting, decorating, and recipe ideas. 
I have loved reading everyone’s thankful posts and I’m afraid that’s just one more thing to do I feel at this moment…Not that I’m not thankful or anything. But, seriously? I’m in over-my-head with things to do. Maybe it’s because we are trying to build our dining table before we host my family for Thanksgiving? Or, maybe it’s because I’m hosting a busy bag exchange this week and there are 29 people involved. Or, maybe it’s that my husband was out of town last week, and is gone this week. I have made my life tooo busy. Exactly what I’ve been trying NOT to do? So, I am going to be thankful all in one post. You probably won’t see it until Thanksgiving. We are going to try something fun and exciting for sharing our thankful lists so I’ll let you know how it goes.
This recipe was pretty vague and I kind of fumbled through the directions, guessing at what to do. Maybe it was because I was in a rush, but really, whatever, this dish was soo good I stuffed myself and had to lie down and do nothing for the rest of the night. Genius.

First off, before you read on, you need to realize that I don’t really like bacon. WhaWhat? yes, I am not a bacon-lover. Maybe it’s because I equate it with the smell of grease wafting through the house and lingering for hours (or days) after. Oh! some of you like that? (ahem, hubby?) Not Me. I like smells like freshly laundered clothes, or my skinny dipping scentsy…I found a way to humor the bacon-lover husband by discovering pre-cooked bacon! Yes! I cheat and use it. It cooks in like 30 seconds and there is hardly any grease so you can barely tell I cooked it.

I ate TWO helpings of this. Yikes. I’m convinced you will not be satisfied with regular chicken alfredo after this. Sorry:)

Chicken and Bacon and Ranch Heaven in a Pasta Dish
–via Beyer Beware

Ingredients:
please note, I usually cook for two adults with enough for leftovers for lunch so I changed the amounts all up. I like to keep the original amounts for those who cook for kids and hubbys who actually eat:) My amounts are in the italics.

1 lb. bacon, fried and crumbled, grease saved or, 3-4 pieces pre-cooked bacon. Do this, trust me, your body will love you more.

2 lb. boneless, skinless chicken thighs, 1 chicken breast
2 tablespoons of ranch seasoning, half a ranch seasoning packet
1 bell pepper, diced, half a bell pepper
2 clove garlic, minced, 1 tsp minced garlic. This is actually the same amount. I confess, I love garlic.
1 lb. bow tie pasta, cooked al dente, 1/4 lb 
2 jars of Alfredo sauce, 1 jar. Are you sensing my halving the recipe?
1/3 cup of evaporated milk or regular milk, a couple Tbs milk
3 roma tomatoes, diced, one roma tomato
4 cups shredded Italian cheese blend, a handful or two, or three, of mozzarella and parmesean cheese.
Directions:
1) Cook pasta to al dente. Drain. Put to the side until the chicken sauce is done.

2) While pasta is cooking, cook or heat up your bacon in a skillet. Once crispy, remove and set aside, reserving the small amount of bacon (or a lot if you used the real stuff. *shiver*.) When it cools, crumble.

3) Cut chicken into bite sized pieces and coat with some ranch seasoning. Coat the chicken well, but make sure you have enough to add later. Saute in a skillet with 1 tablespoon of the bacon grease (again, if you use pre-cooked bacon you won’t even have a teaspoon of left over grease) along with bell peppers and garlic.

3) When chicken is cooked completely, drain grease and liquid from skillet. (I skipped this step since there was so little grease.) Return chicken and veggies to skillet.
4) Pour one jar of Alfredo sauce and milk into skillet with chicken. Stir in one teaspoon of ranch seasoning. Simmer for five minutes.

5) Layer the casserole by first pouring an alfredo layer (from the jar), then the cooked pasta, followed by the chicken sauce, tomatoes, and cheese (like a handful?). Top it off with some bacon. 

6) Repeat Step 5. (You’ll now have a lasagna like layering of sauce, pasta, chicken with more sauce, tomatoes, cheese and bacon.)
7) Bake for 30 minutes on 350. (Or until it’s bubbly. Since mine wasn’t as large a dish it was done in about 20.)
5 thoughts on “Chicken, Bacon, Ranch Pasta

  1. I'm drooling here. Such a great combination of flavors!

    But one question–the title says pizza, not pasta. I think a chicken bacon ranch pizza would be equally tasty, and my try that at some point as well.

  2. Mmm this looks delicious! I wish I was better at cooking, I love to bake but anything healthy just seems to go wrong on me!! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I'm afraid I don't have templates for the nativity hand puppets anymore as I made them in my pre-blogging days. But I based them on ones I saw here – http://www.tipjunkie.com/holiday-crafts/christmas/felt-nativity-hand-puppets/ Let me know if you make some and I'll add a picture and link to my post!

  3. ain't nothin wrong with creamy bacon pasta.

    Thank you for sharing your post with us at the Wednesday Fresh Foods Link Up! I look forward to seeing what other seasonal & real/whole food surprises you have for us again this week! xo, kristy

Leave a Reply

