Tuna Melts

Learning the effects of priority management this week. 
It seems like home ownership forces me into determining which of all life’s demands are most necessary! It’s amazing how much work owning a home is and we live in a brand new house! I am understanding that the women I thought were amazing are even more INCREDIBLE than I thought because they manage to do all the normal mom/household management + take time to craft or sew or whatever else they love to do. I love running and yet I can barely get out twice a week. It’s amazing to me how much life can get in the way of things that matter most if we let them. 
I’m loving this talk, which emphasizes that there are so many good things to do that take our precious time, but there are those which are better, and some which are best. I need to focus on making sure those things which are best are done first before I even contemplate the better and good things to do. This is what I tell myself when I go to bed, exhausted after keeping up with my two-year old, with my house a disaster and the dishes still in the sink–keeping my house clean is a good thing to do, but getting my sleep so I’m not grouchy is the best thing! See how empowering this can be? The hardest part is determining which thing is the best…each of us have different priorities and at every stage in our lives we have different priorities. My rule of thumb is this:
Is this improving my relationship with God?
Is this improving my relationship with my family?
Is this improving my relationships with friends?
Is this improving my relationship with myself? (Does it help me better understand who I am?)
If I can answer yes to any of those questions than it probably is the best activity. This does mean though that my relationship to God has to come first before any others so if I’m spending too much time doing activities that strengthen my relationship with my friends I may need to readjust and make sure He comes first. 
It’s a simple matter of refocusing, but it sure is harder to do than it sounds! That’s for sure!
I have a big old list of things I can’t wait to start doing on my house and projects to create, but I’ve made it a goal to spend more time reading with my daughter and filling our afternoons with memories and less of her in front of the TV while I finish up a project. It’s been hard to “give up” those projects being done quickly, but it is totally worth it in the relationship and love that I feel with my daughter. I know it will only get more difficult as we grow older and have more responsibilities, but for now, this is how it is.
Now onto one of those incredible women that I can’t get enough of is Pioneer Woman. Seriously, I want to cook everything she makes. You may see that she is a strong presence in my menus, but everything is a hit! This meal is an easy lunch meal too and I love making a big batch for multiple meals. I didn’t have any English muffins on hand, so we used regular bread, but anything will do. Growing up we used to eat tuna on bagels and I think that this is a tasty alternative to sandwich bread too.


Tuna Melts–via Pioneer Woman 
Ingredients:
5 ounces, weight Tuna
1/4 cup Finely Chopped Red Onion
1/4 cup Finely Chopped Red Bell Pepper
1 whole Fresh Jalapeno, Finely Chopped (I didn’t have this so it wasn’t as spicy, but it would be delicious)
2 whole Hard Boiled Eggs, Chopped (didn’t make time to do these either, but of course they would only improve the dish!)
6 whole Sweet Gherkins, Sliced (I don’t like sweet pickles, so dill was delish too!)
1/3 cup Mayonnaise
2 Tablespoons Dijon Mustard
Splash Of Pickle Juice
Salt And Pepper, to taste
6 whole English Muffins Split
12 slices Cheese (Swiss, Provolone, Muenster)

Preparation Instructions:
1) Combine tuna with onion, bell pepper, jalapeno, eggs, and gherkins. Stir in mayonnaise, Dijon, and pickle juice. Add salt and pepper. Taste and adjust seasonings as needed; be sure not to under-salt.
2) Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
3) Place English muffin halves on a large cookie sheet. Place a large spoonful of tuna salad on each of the twelve English muffin halves. Use the spoon to spread/flatten. Put pan into the oven for five minutes, then briefly remove and lay a slice of cheese on each muffin. Return to oven and turn on broiler. Watch carefully to avoid burning; bake until cheese is melted and bubbly.
4) Remove from oven and serve immediately.

2 thoughts on “Tuna Melts

Leave a Reply

