Hawaiian Haystacks

I love pinterest. I’m sure that doesn’t come as a surprise to anyone because I don’t know anyone who doesn’t love pinterest, except maybe that it can be quite a time-sucker…
Amazingly enough, with the overwhelming amount of ideas and inspiration, pinterest has actually helped me SIMPLIFY my life. HOW? The magic of three ingredients:
Vinegar
Dawn
Water.
It’s incredible what a formidable combination those three ingredients are. I can walk around my house and clean it lickety split with just one spray bottle and a bunch of rags. I can clean my bathrooms, mop my floors, wash my windows, clean my stainless steel appliances, and keep my washing machine sparkly clean inside and outside with just one cleaner!
Marketers sure would like you to believe that you need all those separate cleaners for each different surface, but seriously, this combo works and since vinegar is a powerful disinfectant I don’t need to do any additional disinfecting.
I love that I can clean my house top to bottom and disinfect everything in ONE HOUR (including tidying and vacuuming). How do I do this? Well, firstly, I have 1500 sq feet on each floor so this is really just the time it takes to clean the main floor. Since the basement is unfinished, this pretty much is my whole house right now! It’s comprised of a carpeted family room and 3 bedrooms. The two bathrooms are vinyl tiles and the rest is wood laminate. This is my cleaning routine:

Pick up all the general toys and clutter and return to their respective room.
Put all the dirty dishes in the sink or dishwasher.
Vacuum all bedrooms and family room and entry way rug
Sweep the wood floors and bathrooms.
Clean bathrooms with DRY cleaning. (a new trick that saves oodles of time and is so much cleaner! They use this technique in hotels)
Clean all floors with my swifer. I simply fill a tupperware with a vinegar and water mixture and use a lint free cloth, immerse and squeeze all the extra water out and put it on my swifer. (I never buy swifer cloths because this works sooo well). I also clean my baseboards and doors while I’m going along–the swifer is perfect for those surprisingly enough.
Clean cupboards and appliances
Replace all the rugs.
Turn on the scentsy (because I love yummy smells more than vinegar)
SMILE because my house is pretty close to spotless and smells great.

Now that your house is clean, let’s get the kitchen dirty with this quick and easy dinner recipe.
This is a super quick dinner that is sure to please everyone. I love that this recipe is so fast and easy and kids love being able to pick what they want to dress it up. Plus, there isn’t much cooking so my just cleaned and sparkly kitchen stays that way for more than a couple hours!
I really don’t know how it got the name Hawaiian Haystacks, but I sure know it’s delicious. (Shhhh, the secret is the sauce!)

Ingredients:
Per Serving:
1 cup cooked rice
1/2 cup chicken gravy recipe
toppings! (i.e. pinapple, raisins, coconut, chow mein noodles, cheddar cheese, green onions, peas, almonds, tomatoes, mushrooms, green pepper, water chestnuts, etc).

Chicken Gravy:
1 cup cooked chicken
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 cup cottage cheese
1 cup plain yogurt
1/4 tsp onion pwd
1/4 tsp garlic pwd
pepper
I love to add the cheese directly to the sauce because who doesn’t love a cheesy, creamy sauce on rice?

Directions:
In an orderly fashion, assemble your rice, gravy and toppings. Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Hawaiian Haystacks

Leave a Reply

