Chicken and Pineapple Quesadillas

Another Feature:

I was thinking last night as I lay in bed trying to fall asleep about all the projects I can’t wait to start in our new house. I mean, it’s going to be a brand new house so there’s not that much to be done. I can’t wait to start making it mine though. I realized that creating something or re-creating something to make it mine is something I LOVE. I love re-upholstering and taking an old piece of furniture and making it look new and cute again. I was talking with hubby about how much I love doing it and how I would spend time doing it no matter if no one saw or knew about my creation. I think this is something we all have to find–something we love to do no matter who knows about it!

Getting on to food, something else I love to talk about and spend time with no matter if anyone even reads this blog! 

How many times can we combine chicken and pineapple? Well I don’t care because every way is DELICIOUS. PW does it again with her flair on these quesadillas. I love the extra kick she adds with the jalepeno. Seriously, delicious. Don’t believe me? Try them yourself:

Chicken and Pineapple Quesadillas–via Pioneer Woman

Ingredients:
8 whole Flour Tortillas

Butter Or Margarine
2 cups Grilled Pineapple, Sliced

3 whole Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts
Salt And Pepper, to taste
3 cups Monterey Jack Cheese, Grated

1 whole Jalapeno, Sliced
Cilantro
3 Tablespoons Barbecue Sauce


Preparation Instructions
1)To grill pineapple: cut wedges, stick on skewers, and grill over low heat. Cut into slices.

2)To pound chicken, place inside a Ziploc bag and pound with a mallet or large can to flatten to uniform thickness. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and Cajun spice (or cumin/cayenne, etc.) Drizzle olive oil on a grill pan and grill on both sides until done, brushing with barbecue sauce. Set aside and slice into very thin slices.

3)Warm griddle over medium heat and put sizzling butter or margarine in the pan. Slightly warm and toast tortillas on both sides, then remove from griddle and set aside.

4)To assemble, sprinkle four browned tortillas with grated Monterey Jack. Arrange chicken slices evenly over the surface. Add pineapple slices and jalapeno slices. Sprinkle on cilantro. If desired, drizzle extra barbecue sauce over the top. Add second browned tortilla on top of each one. (You’ll have four complete quesadillas at this point.)Add to oven to warm, or back to skillet to warm, until cheese is melted. Cut each quesadilla into six wedges. Serve with sour cream, pico de gallo, and lime wedges.

5 thoughts on “Chicken and Pineapple Quesadillas

  1. Very true, it really does not matter whether anyone saw, or knows, or appreciate, what we love to do. For me too, I always do nd arrange things the way I love to do…
    Delicious Recipe. yummy combination

Leave a Reply

