Tater-Tot Casserole

I’m not a big fan of casseroles…but this is one exception. Partly because it’s so easy, partly because my 2 year old loves it and it has everything she normally doesn’t like, and partly because I’m a closet tater-tot obsessor. Okay, maybe just anything that is grated potato and fried like hashbrowns. I mean I love the greasy ones from McDonald’s breakfast menu? don’t say it. no judgments.

Here’s the recipe before I reveal more about myself
Tater-Tot Casserole (a great alternative for those who don’t like Shephard’s Pie…aka every kid I know)
Yields 6 servings Prep Time: 20mins Cook Time 30mins plus 5mins


Ingredients:
1 lb ground beef
10-12 baby carrots, diced
1-2 Tbs minced onion
2 cans cream of chicken soup
1 can milk (just over one cup, use cream of chicken soup can)
1 can green beans, drained
1 bag 32 oz frozen tater-tots
grated cheddar cheese

Directions:
Brown beef and add carrots and onions. Once browned, add soup and milk, then pour into 9×13 casserole dish. Pour green beans on top and tater-tots to cover. Bake uncovered at 350 degrees F for 30 mins. Once tater-tots are browned, add cheese and return to oven until cheese melts.

Think this recipe couldn’t be any easier? Well, it can. I usually buy ground beef in 2lb packages and then I immediately cook 1 lb and freeze it and freeze the other lb uncooked. Then, when I need a quick recipe that calls for cooked ground beef I can whip it out and bam, instant dinner. I like keeping some uncooked to have on hand for meatloaf or meatballs or whatever. Since I cook my beef with onions, I just shaved off 10 mins of this recipe. Also, I wanted to use up my frozen food since, you know, we are moving, so I threw in the rest of my carrots and green beans, about a half a bag each. Then I poured the soup and milk mixture over and voila. From start to oven about 2 mins! 

13 thoughts on “Tater-Tot Casserole

  1. I'm visiting from StoneGable…when I saw this I had to pop over,thanks for jogging my memory,I had forgotten how much I love this tater-tot casserole….yum to my tum.
    I tried to follow but google is acting up…or maybe it's just my stupid computer…I'll try later!!

  2. thank you for this recipe. i remember a woman talking about how her kids love tater tot casserole…after seeing these ingredients, i could see why. my kids will like it too.
    thanks!!
    I am your newest follower..pls follow back if you can.

Leave a Reply

