Jambalaya

A good jambalaya starts with three ingredients: onion, celery and peppers. I love spicy sausage and shrimp with mine but basically jambalaya is good with everything. This is a recipe for all those who haven’t tried it or haven’t had a good experience to prove that, yes, jambalaya is worth  all the hype. there’s this hilarious episode of Hart of Dixie about cooking it that makes it out to be all complicated, but it’s really not; oh wait, thats gumbo and George sings about jambalaya.  Ok so I’m not from the south and I get them mixed up. (I love this show by the way, it is soo sweet and funny, and Rachel Bilson? Love her!) I love that it’s relatively quick and makes your house smell ooh so scrumptious.
Here is the recipe and I’ll stop my jabbering

Jambalaya
Ingredients:
1/2 cup chopped onion (abt 1 medium)
1/2 cup chopped celery
1/4 cup chopped green pepper (1 small)
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbs oil
2 cups chicken broth
1 14.5oz can diced tomatoes, undrained
8 oz sausage in 1/2″ slices
3/4 c uncooked rice
1 tsp thyme, crushed
1/2 tsp dried basil, crushed
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1 bay leaf
optional: 1/2 lb baby shrimp, 1 cup shredded chicken
Directions for stove-top:
In 12″ skillet cook onion, celery, pepper and garlic in hot oil until tender. Stir in broth, tomatoes, sausage, rice, thyme, basil, cayenne pepper, 1/4tsp black pepper, and bay leaf. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer covered for 15 mins until rice is tender. Discard bay leaf.
Directions for crock-pot:
Put all ingredients in crock-pot except rice. Cook on LOW for 6 hrs. Cook rice separately and serve jambalaya over rice.

8 thoughts on “Jambalaya

  1. This looks so good. I found you at Homestead Simple. I have a link party on Wednesdays, and I would love it if you would link this and any other posts. It is called Wednesdays Adorned From Above Link Party. It runs from Wednesday to Sundays.
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com/2012/09/reeses-smore-brownies-and-wednesdays.html
    I hope to see you there. I am your newest follower, and I would love for your to follow me also. Have a great Day.
    Debi Bolocofsky
    Adorned From Above
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com

Leave a Reply

