Amazing Pesto-Stuffed Pork Chops

It has been a crazy week. TGIF! It’s also Eliza’s 2nd birthday! wow. Today I will finish all the preparations for her party tomorrow; including baking this cake. I’m not a huge baker so we’ll see if it turns out. I finished the pinata, dollhouse, and I’ve purchased all the foods. Phew. My family flew into town last night; add that to the craziness.

On the bright side, I’ve been nominated for a Versatile Blogger Award. I know it’s a great way for us to spread the love amongst bloggers. So, here are the rules of accepting the award: 
1. Add the award to your blog.
2. Thank the person who presented it to you.
3. List seven random facts about yourself.
4. List the rules.
5. Pass the award onto seven other bloggers.
6. Inform each blogger they have won by posting a comment on their blog.


Helen from And Who Says You Can’t nominated me and I can’t thank her enough. It’s amazing the friends you make and the people you meet while blogging. She lives in the UK and is Buddhist. I don’t know if we ever would have met in real life, but here we are chatting it up and learning about each other through the internet.
Seven random facts about myself, hmmm. 
1. I love reading any kind of book
2. I’m a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Read more about what we believe here.
3. I love living in Utah
4. Growing up I detested domestication; Now I EMBRACE IT
5. I was a ballerina 
6. I got my bachelor’s of science in Organizational Development; that’s where you study how people perform in the work place and why and how to make them efficient.
7. My biggest pet peeve-people who make opinions without knowing facts
Enough about me though, let’s get to know some other bloggers! I nominate
2. Athena from The Stuff of Success
3. Danielle from Blissful and Domestic
4. Daniela from Aesthetic Oiseau
5. Autumn from It’s Always Autumn
7. Ali from AliPyper
Now on to the food part:)
Since we made something last night with Pesto, lets use up the rest of what we bought in this amazing pork chop recipe! With Pesto, you can go heavy or light depending on how strong you want the flavor to be. The first time I made these pork chops, I used more pesto than we liked, the second time not enough, and then the third just right! Don’t be afraid to experiment!

Pesto-Stuffed Pork Chops–via Better Homes and Garden New Cookbook pg 403
Prep Time:20mins Cook Time: 35mins

Ingredients:
3 Tbs crumbled feta cheese I don’t like feta, so I use whatever cheese I have on hand at the time
2 Tbs basil pesto
1 Tbs pine nuts I didn’t add these since my pesto has lots of pine nuts already
4 pork loin chops cut 1 1/4″ thick
1 tsp ground black pepper
1 tsp dried oregano, crushed
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
1/4 tsp dried thyme, crushed
2 cloves garlic, inced
1 Tbs balsamic vinegar

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 365 degrees F. For filling, in a small bowl stir together cheese, pesto and pine nuts; set aside.
2. Trim fat from meat. Make a pocket in each chop by cutting horizontall from fat side almost to bone or opposite side. Spoon filling into pockets. Secure the openings with wooden toothpicks.
3. For rub, in a small bowl combine black pepper, oregano, crushed red pepper, thyme, and garlic. Rub evenly onto all sides of meat. place chops on a rack in a shallow roasting pan. Bake for 35 to 45 mins or until chops are 160 degrees F and juices run clear. Brush vinegar onto chops the last 5 mins of baking. discard toothpicks before serving.

This recipe is linked up: check it out here

3 thoughts on “Amazing Pesto-Stuffed Pork Chops

  1. I just wrote this comment on my blog — but realized I should have written it here instead:

    Thank you for thinking of me, Carissa! I have never been part of a blog award before, so I will have to get up to speed. But I love that you have been posting pesto recipes lately! I haven't made any yet, but I am a sucker for pesto and there just happens to be some in the fridge!

  2. Thank you for thinking of me, Carissa! I have never been part of a blog award before, so I will have to get up to speed. But I love that you have been posting pesto recipes lately! I haven't made any yet, but I am a sucker for pesto and there just happens to be some in the fridge!

Leave a Reply

