Saucy Asian Meatballs

You know I have to give my two cents before you get this recipe. Well, these were an immediate hit for everyone…except me. I didn’t love them. Maybe I was just imagining more of a sweet and sour taste, but these were not. They were kind of nutty and definitely ASIAN. My hubby and sis and bro in law all RAVED, but they just didn’t do it for me. The only reason I’m including them on the menu is because even though I do all the cooking, I’m not doing all the eating and my hubby insisted we REPEAT these at a later time and date. All the recipes I’m putting on here are hubby/family/me requested repeat meals, so here they are:

Saucy Asian Meatballs Recipe–via Gimme Some Oven


Ingredients:

Meatball Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs. ground pork or ground beef
  • 2 tsp. sesame oil
  • 1 cup Panko or breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup thinly-sliced green onions
  • optional garnish: toasted sesame seeds, sliced scallions


Asian Sauce Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup hoisin sauce
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1 tsp. sesame oil
  • 1 tsp. ground ginger


Directions:
Preheat oven to 400.
In a large bowl, mix together meatball ingredients until well-combined.  Shape into balls (I made mine about 1.5 inches, which yielded about 35 meatballs, but 1 inch is probably standard), and place on a greased baking sheet or in a 9×13 baking dish.  Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until meatballs are golden on the outside and no longer pink on the inside.
While the meatballs are baking, whisk together all of the sauce ingredients until blended.  Once meatballs have finished cooking, you can either dip each meatball individually (using a toothpick) in the sauce mixture.  Or you can pour the sauce over the meatballs and gently stir them until covered.
Serve warm, and sprinkle with additional garnish if desired.
Leave a Reply

