Blondie or Butterscotch Brownies

You will love these cocoa free, butter free, melt in your mouth brownies! A perfect companion for tonight’s dinner. I tried them for the first time out of desperation…I committed to bring a dessert to Sunday dinner and as I was preparing I realized I didn’t have any butter. How does one bake without butter? I scoured my go-to cookbooks and tried these brownies, crossing my fingers they would turn out.
Well turn out they did!

Butterscotch Brownies–via Betty Crocker’s Cookbook circa 1969
Ingredients:
1/4 cup shortening
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup chopped nuts I always omit those:)
Directions:
Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Heat shortening over low heat until melted; remove from heat. Mix in brown sugar, egg and vanilla. Stir in remaining ingredients. Spread in greased square pan, 8″x8″x2″. Bake 25 minutes. Cut and Serve.

I melted semi-sweet chocolate chips with some butterscotch chips and spread on top while they were still warm to add a ooey-gooey-melt-in-your-mouth-richness frosting of types. YUM.

Leave a Reply

